Join the Conversation: January Edition

It’s a brand new month, which means it’s time to pose the next question in our Mother Sugar Salon: Join the Conversation. And, we’d like to brighten-up your post-holiday blues by doing our second Mother Sugar giveaway! So, draw up a chair, fill up a mug of your favourite tea, and come muse with us!

Here’s how it works:

  • Answer the question of the month in our comments section or use it as inspiration for your own blog post, just like Bits from the Bookworm was inspired to do.
  • At the end of the month, we’ll reflect on your comments – how you’ve inspired us, or changed our perspective (giving you full credit for your comments, and hopefully sending some readers your way).

Now, on to the giveaway.  We do like our sweet treats here at Mother Sugar. This time around, we’ll be giving away fudge from the Olde World Fudge Company. Made fresh on Granville Island, Vancouver, BC. The type of fudge is up to you! Anyone who comments or blogs on this month’s question will be entered in a draw for this delicious, sugary goodness. Please respond by January 25, 2013 to be entered in the draw!

Fudge, Glorious Fudge from http://flic.kr/p/9saFxM

Now, on to the question:

At this point in your life, is there a dream you will never get to fulfill? What is it- and what makes you so sure it’s out of reach?

We can’t wait to hear from you!

14 thoughts on “Join the Conversation: January Edition

  1. Since I was a young girl, I have loved all things magical. Casting spells, waving wands, witnessing bursts of sparkly air and thick purple clouds… I’ve wanted to experience them all. Characters like Sabrina, Samantha, Cinderella’s Fairy Godmother, and those girls from “The Craft” all had me hoping that I too could be magical.

    The ultimate dream would have been to receive an owl-delivered letter with the Hogwarts seal indicating that I had been chosen for admission into the finest wizarding school in the world. The Harry Potter stories were marvelous fun and I would have loved to study transfiguration, divinity, and potions with the other students. Unfortunately, this dream cannot come true because 1) I am well over the age limit of a Hogwarts’ student and 2) the school is fictious (as far as I know). I guess the closest I’ll get is the Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Orlando, Florida, but even that is not easily accessible as I am on the other side of the country.

    But maybe once I get there, I can take a little magic home with me.

  2. This is a question that conjurs immediate pain and longing for something, someone, I know I will never have. I hesitate to write about it due to the emotion it elicits. However it comes to mind with each birthday, with news of every birth and especially at New Year’s. Due to a twist of fate and a variety of circumstances, I have come to realize that I will never have a child. It is a shock each time I proclaim it because I find it so hard to believe that I, unlike millions before me, will never experience the epitome of the female experience, nor will I have the comfort of knowing that I will be taken care of in my old age. I will not pass on my genes or see my own image in a sweet little face as I had dreamed to all these years. I mourn in small bits this death of a dream, as it is all I can bear.

      • I’m not sure why I laid it out there-I guess it just needed to come out when I saw the question. I should probably write a post about it but never want to be depressing-this was a mini-dose of depressing so seemed ok lol. Thanks for your kind comment.

    • Oh Dana, how I feel for you. I appreciate your candour and I understand what you mean about not wanting to throw yourself a pity party, so you suffer alone instead. It’s not just disappointment. It really is grief and I struggle with this one too. Thank you for sharing.

  3. This question first appeared to be counter-intuitive for me as I try to focus on what I can and will do…so, I took the weekend to ponder. What I remembered is that my husband’s grandfather would always ask me to sing for him whenever we were together (which wasn’t but about every two years or so). In truth, I love to sing but often have felt intimidated for others to listen, so I continually declined. Well, after several years, time took its toll on his body, and he left this life. Now, I am in a place that I feel my confidence has grown enough to sing for whomever, but he is no longer in a place to receive my song.

    Thank you for the question that caused much reflection. 🙂

  4. Pingback: An old dream. | Mother Sugar

  5. Pingback: Join the Conversation: Is there a dream you will never get to fulfill? | Mother Sugar

  6. I’m still thinking about how to answer this one. I have a bad habit of talking myself out of impossible dreams and sinking my teeth into ones that feel a little more within reach. I do write a list every now and then of things I want and hope to do, and over time I achieve quite a few of them. But a dream out of reach that still feels like a dream I want, this is tricky. Watch this space.

    • That is my answer too. They say it’s better to have tried and failed than never to have tried at all. But I think it’s better to try and succeed and not try if you know you’re not going to. Why waste energy and time on something you’re not good at?

      Has this thinking stolen me away from some really cool things? Probably. But I can’t complain. I’ve done some really cool other things instead.

Leave a Reply

