Piece of Mind? Peace of Cake.

Before the days of Pinterest and well, let’s be honest, internet, I used to scrapbook about the person I’d be when I grew up and what I’d wear and buy and bake, and where I’d live.  Based on the clippings, I was going to be a Chanel suited, high heel booted, jitterbugging intellectual, who had several fabulous homes all over the world and who baked eight layer cakes or cookies with edible pansies.

Before pinterest and the info superhighway, there was scissors and glue.

Last week, thirteen years after clipping the recipe, I found edible pansies at the store.

I bake every once in a while.  Flour, sugar, butter, eggs, I’ll pull these simple ingredients together and play. It’s fun. I get to use all sorts of kitchen toys, make a mess, and eat the rewards.  I can follow rules and be creative and be generous to myself and to others.  The Joy of Baking, isn’t that what they say?

But as I grabbed the measuring cups that day, there was a twinge of guilt.  One of the best things about Mother Sugar are the comments that follow each post. And one thing that comes up again and again is the potential inherent conflict between certain things we do and what doing them says about us.  Cooking, cleaning, getting married, being single, having babies, how to raise them when you have them, baking, these are not just simple tasks or unfettered choices.  To a self-aware intelligent being, they come with implications and at times, problematic associations.

So I thought: isn’t baking awfully old fashioned?  Doesn’t my rolling pin solidify traditional roles about women?  Am I not subscribing to some kind of essentialist notion of what us gals should be doing with our lives?  Growing up (and maybe this is because of that 90’s cynicism) a woman in an apron was not a role model. Does anyone even remember when Hilary Clinton dismissed making cookies? That there was a time when it seemed you were either breaking eggs, or breaking glass ceilings, but you wouldn’t dare do both at the same time?  And even now there’s been an ongoing debate about ecological mothering in which I’m sure baking plays a critical yet sinister part.

Nowadays even the humble cupcake is an industry.  The whoopie pie has launched a full frontal assault here in Europe.  Martha and Sandra and Dorie and Nigella are encouraging us to bake, affiliating the act with all sorts of good things: love, home, generosity, relaxation, escape, even empowerment.   And the proof is in the pudding: whatever baking triumph I might have, there’s probably a banker, a homemaker, or a rocket scientist online who has done it better, while having written a clever article, and taken professional pictures at the same time.  Baking has become not unlike fashion, a means through which, on the one hand, we express and empower ourselves, a means that make a lot of women financially successful; and yet at the same time, it keeps us gals firmly rooted in the traditional feminine.

It’s easy enough to say I’m making a free choice, that unlike women before me, I’m not under any obligations to bake a dozen chocolate chip cookies, that what was a once a chore is now a hobby, and a luxury one at that. There might even be people who are surprised that I bake at all.  But what if the choice itself is engendered?  And what if making a societal statement- throwing my muffin tins out- robs me of true pleasure?

As a child, I baked with my mother.  We made cakes and puddings: we took a box and dumped it’s powders into a bowl, added some milk, an egg. Later, we’d crack open a tub of icing.

One of the more homemade concoctions my mom and I made. Whipped cream and store bought wafers. Source: Alice QFoodie.

And then one day somebody told me, if it came out of a box, it wasn’t really baking. Turned out my grandmother, whose chocolate cake I looked forward to every year, was also a cheat!  I was too young to draw parallels between the authenticity of their love and their baking, or to consider how political such an accusation might be when directed at a time starved working mom like mine, but I promised myself that even though I didn’t have a clue how to go about it, when I grew up, I would only bake from scratch.

Enter Martha Stewart (because if you’re going to bake from scratch, she seemed like the logical place to start in 1999).  While roommates drank and ventured out to strip bars, I worked on my feminist jurisprudence paper and clipped recipes.  When I couldn’t figure out how to calculate marginal productivity, I made drop biscuits.  When my father remarried, I made Gingerbread Snacking Cake.

Don’t let me mislead you: I wasn’t very good.  Baking might have been a traditional activity but I was hardly the traditional type:  impatient, ambitious, I never liked making anything more than once.  Baking wasn’t about giving or sacrifice or proving some kind of feminine wile; it was just my way of imposing structure and control when I didn’t know what the hell was going on.  In fact, the irony never occurred to me that a women’s studies minor would find such solace in her oven.

Mine did not look like this.

My projects became more elaborate and ridiculous. I kept my boyfriend and all his friends waiting until nearly midnight for lemon soufflés that never rose from their skins.  Looking back, I must have appeared like a desperate housewife in the making, but I was fighting a war with those lemons! Eventually I found a job, a career, which came with enough combat rules and complexity to leave baking alone for a while.

Rebellion, independence, assertiveness, control, these are the real ingredients in my baking mix.  Baking was hardly safe, domesticated terrain. Sure, there might have been some self-validation sprinkled throughout- but that validation transcended gender, it wasn’t about proving I was sugar and spice and all that crap; it was about proving to myself I could figure out and direct and create and give something away (however trivial) all by myself.  Baking made me understand that there is an important difference in saying you can’t do something and you won’t do something.  One is a choice, the other is a limitation.  Isn’t that a recipe worth saving?

Maybe I have my mother and grandmother to thank, that their short-cut cakes, their refusal to entirely bow to a domestic tradition (or to at least embody a more modern one) uncomplicated the magic of vanilla and yeast. I regret the severity of judging my mother’s boxed cake mix.  Daughters can be cruel.

Forbes published an article about how women in the corporate world shouldn’t bring their baking to work because it would send the wrong kind of signal– instead of ambitious career woman, you’d become holly homemaker.  I get that, I do. I did not bring cookies to the trading floor. Being aware of the politics of baking (of anything) serves a purpose.  Not everyone is past reducing a woman to her baked goods.

But as far as I see it, there’s nothing wrong with being proud of anything you create with your hands, your brain, your heart.  The politics are worth bearing in mind, but sometimes those politics can feel a lot like somebody else just telling you what to do.  And as one of us once said, reduction intensifies flavor.  But if you’re not careful, you’ll burn it all down to a black stinking mess.

Maybe I do bake to recreate some kind of nostalgia that doesn’t really exist.   Yes, I’ll admit it: I’ll bake to impress my mother-in-law, I’ll even bake to show off.

Last Xmas Bûche de Noël for the in-laws.

But mostly I’m showing off to myself. I take pictures because while I know I can run a million dollar conference and win corporate awards, half of me still can’t quite believe I’ve baked a cake.

If we are looking solely for self worth in our batter, things are going to fall flat.  That blogger who in her spare time  just finished her croquembouche will make you suicidal.  But at least for now, I’m not worried about being defined by a plate of brownies any more than I am worried about being defined as a corporate bitch.  One association kind of cancels out the other.  And that contradiction is the cherry on the top.

Oh.

Pansy Sugar Cookies

The cookies turned out swell.  No I was not wearing Chanel.  Yes, I have one fabulous house.  In honor of that self seeking girl who (more or less) became the woman she hoped to be and her baking mentor Martha, I’ve included the recipe below. Enjoy!

Pansy Cookies (from Martha Stewart circa 1998)

Makes 4 dozen

4 cups sifted all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup unsalted butter

2 cups granulated sugar

2 large eggs, slightly beaten

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract (I added 2 teaspoon of lemon zest and 2 teaspoon of lavender)

1 large egg white

3 dozen edible pansies, stems trimmed

1/2 cup sanding sugar (or granulated)

1. In a large bowl sift flour, salt, and baking powder. set aside

2.Cream butter on medium speed, gradually add sugar, beat until fluffy. Add eggs gradually; beat until fluffy.  On low speed, add vanilla and other flavors if using, and reserved dry ingredients; mix until combined. Divide two into two balls; wrap in plastic.  Flatten to discs. Refrigerate 30 min.

3.Heat oven to 325 degree Fahrenheit. In a small bowl whisk egg white wash with 1 tablespoon water until frothy.  On a lightly floured surface, roll out one disc of dough, to a 1/4 inch thickness.  Cut out shapes. Place on baking sheets, space about 2 inches apart.  Brush tops with egg wash. Place pansy on top of each cookie and affix petals with more egg wash.  Sprinkle with sanding sugar. But until lightly golden, 8-10 min. Transfer to rack to cool. Can be stored up to 1 week.

20 thoughts on “Piece of Mind? Peace of Cake.

  1. Yum – as you know, I will always be the first to stand up for the rights of bakers. I still recall the day I received my fresh-off-the-press copy of Nigella’s “How To Be A Domestic Goddess” at my desk at the bank, with you next to me, sharing my whoops of glee as I ripped open the Amazon package. That book is now delicately held together with Sellotape, bearing the signs of too many egg whites and sugar splashed on the pages, gently prised apart. I guess even then I was dreaming of the day when I could cast off the pantyhose and heels and exchange my Armani suit in favour of a blue and white striped apron. Nowadays, I wear that apron just a little tooooo often…..

    • you know, I almost wrote about that day. That book. I was scandalized by the title and in love with the book. I’m so happy that you remember that day, as your apprentice, I’m always convinced I’ve distilled things that seem so grand to me and were probably so mundane for you. I still have my copy too, which I bought as soon as I saw yours. There’s a lot of sinister chocolate marks on my copy.

      you know, the fact that we unearthed that book while working is probably what it made it so palatable to me. Single career gals working ridiculous hours and oohing about cake? you gotta love it.

    • Oh! I’m so glad BEZ and now Madridfarmgirl wrote about Nigella! Talk about carving a new path in the confusion of the madonna/whore complex… the UK didn’t quite know how to handle this curvy, sultry, educated, brilliant seductress who would get right in to minced beef/pastry/anything with her raw hands (shot in extreme close up) and still turn out perfect meals for her husband and children on queue. We’d been acclimatized to Delia Smith and her sanitized Surrey formula, and now this! I remember feeling INSANELY jealous of her. And it was the first cooking show my man at the time ever displayed any interest in, so naturally I was suspicious.
      I’ve often thought that Padma Lakshmi is today’s version of Nigella: younger, slimmer (but still curvy), married to Salmon Rusdhie. Now, funnily enough, I have a different man but he STILL loves to watch Padma.
      Yep, madonna/whore still alive and well. There’s one for every age.

  2. OK! There is too much to respond to here. Let me take a stab at it and forgive me if this reply is disjointed. First, I have never perceived baking as an act that undermines feminism. Maybe this is because the men in my world are just as likely to be bakers as the women. In fact, my husband bakes our bread every other day, my uncle is professional cake decorator and even my great uncle who is now passed (born in 1912) was likely to arrive with a pie that he had baked from scratch. Yes, the women bake but it was not the reserved space. My maternal grandmother who was a homemaker never baked, she bought. My paternal grandmother who worked full time her entire adult life baked every time we came to visit.
    I guess I can’t argue that the space of the kitchen is traditionally occupied by women but at least as far as I can see that is not the case for most families now. If I’m being honest, I love baking and cooking and being a homemaker. I get great joy out these things. I’ve been hesitant to comment on many entries on this blog because these are the realms I occupy daily. There is often an undercurrent of disrespect on this blog for women who are not pushing traditional boundaries. I am not oppressed, repressed, stupid, disadvantaged or weak. I am intentionally conscious of my role and approach it like I used to approach my professional work. I do these things because I want to. I am someone who is not ready to give up my connection to traditional women’s roles. I see strength in women now and in the past. I always wonder why it is that women are only perceived as successful if they occupy the male sphere. At what point do men need to occupy the female sphere in order for things to change? For example, I am lucky enough to live in a country where men and women are afforded the same paternity benefits. After our first child was born my husband and I split the one year of paternity benefits and each of us spent a part of the year at home with our daughter. He is now, however, at a new work place and has explained to me that even though legally his company would have to allow him to take paternity leave, it would mean the end of any upwards progression in his career. Those ingrained patriarchal systems are a far bigger threat to women’s rights than any pansy cookie ever will be.

    And, if you ever have the chance to come visit I will try to bake something for you. If I do, I’m probably showing off a bit but I’m also remembering that nothing goes better with friendship than a cup of coffee and a turtle brownie to share.

    • The first and most important thing I need to say is that if any of us have made you feel undervalued, then thank you for being honest and my deepest apologies. I think you are wise enough to know that whatever ‘issues’ each of us has comes to us from our individual experiences and upbringing, and that we’re figuring things out not from a place of certainty. The stereotypes and generalizations, the black vs. white we may fall into are our disabilities.

      I know of few woman as strong and sure as you. A large part of my moral compass I owe to you. I have always known you to make the choices in your life consciously with self awareness and with grace. And that surpasses any kind of classification. I think you should be proud of having a heritage, a family, and world view that enables you to commit to the choices you have. The truth is not all of us are as sure footed, not all of us have had the certainty in our upbringing to be so clear. So we bump into walls and kick at doors and sometimes there is someone on the other side who gets hit, while we’re figuring it out. We should probably be more careful. We parrot what the media says, what the general assumptions of our ‘worlds’ are because our frequency is fuzzy and still being tuned. In some way we’re all searching for that resoluteness you already have.

      I have to agree that my own personal family also wasn’t that old-fashioned, at least not from a gender point of view. And that in my house, my husband does the cooking. In writing this post, I took cues from what media, what research, what social science has spent a lot of time looking at. And statistics do support a view that is not the one you or I are experiencing. When I wrote, I read some women studies essays, which made me uncomfortable because it made me question myself. Don’t forget, you have children. I’m just a lady who lunches.

      I do think pushing those traditional boundaries is important- for all of us. How do we get to pay equity and equal parental benefits without it? We don’t get it if there aren’t women in the workplace defying what traditional patriarchy asks of them. We just don’t. Does it take away from your chosen path? It shouldn’t, but I can understand how it might feel that it does. And it should come at the expense of the value we place on women’s traditional roles? Does it have be a zero sum game?

      To be fair, there is a whole conversation out there in favor of more tradition. And maybe it’s a little underrepresented here. I am reminded of being here in Belgium, where no one seems to have an issue making some very political incorrect racist comments about asians, and not reconciling the fact that I am sitting right there. The way they think of the ‘group’ is completely disassociated with the way they think of ‘me’. They don’t even realize I’m part of that group sometimes. We might be guilty of the same.

      I do think your right that until more men are in those roles, it’s not going to get easier anytime soon. But what I think you’ve pointed out is key: the woman who would break the traditional boundaries is always feeling that she is fighting for the harder road, but in fact, the woman who values those traditions is now also fighting the hard road. Against being undervalued. Seems to me the dubious gift of being a woman is that we can undertake no endeavor without having a bunch of political strings attached. Not a one. And how do we unravel ourselves? And can we do it without constantly putting ourselves into opposition with each other (the endless women vs. women, mom vs. mom wars)? We do it like this: like we do here, by recognizing and (hopefully) breaking all the labels, good and bad. Until just the individual is left.

      Coffee, turtle brownie, and you. A date made in heaven. I’m already in awe, you know, but you can show off anytime you like!

      • Perhaps I was being overly defensive. I’m not suggesting that women shouldn’t push traditional values and fight to make inroads where there are still inequalities. What I was trying to suggest is that in an attempt to gain rights and equality women have in many ways ghettoized their traditional roles. In my view, it is not the traditional roles of home making and childrearing that are problematic but rather the way in which we place value on those things in society. I’m not trying to tie women to those roles. I’m suggesting that by devaluing work that has been traditionally held by women we are also devaluing women. I’m not necessarily in favour of more tradition. I would be very hesitant to align myself with the group of women who rally for a return to tradition in fear that it undermines the gains made in the workplace and politics. You summed it up when you said, ‘the woman who would break the traditional boundaries is always feeling that she is fighting for the harder road, but in fact, the woman who values those traditions is now also fighting the hard road. Against being undervalued.’

  3. I really enjoyed reading this. I have never associated any negative connotations with baking. Baking for me has always been a fun hobby, something to do on a rainy day, a nice surprise for no reason in particular, and now, a fun messy activity to share with my kids. I hope they take away the same fond memories of baking as I did from my own childhood.

    And for the record, the lemon souffles were well worth the wait 🙂 They probably didn’t rise because there simply wasn’t enough room in that microscopically small kitchen you had back then.

    • So thrilled you’re reading and commenting! And you have always been a kind and supportive soul for my antics. Thank God it was you I was serving them too! The one upside I have since learned about that kitchen is how fantastically easy it was to clean.

      I am sure baking will be only one of the a number of fun activities your little people will remember.

  4. This was so well written, complex and interesting. There are about a trillion lines in here that I could quote as being spot-on and perfect, but I really like this simple one, because it’s something most of us don’t give ourselves permission to feel: “But as far as I see it, there’s nothing wrong with being proud of anything you create with your hands, your brain, your heart.” Thank you for the great read.

  5. Oh how I’ve missed the ever longer “elongated conversation” this week. Catching up with it now is like studying for a test… which questions and thoughts and statements do I need to remember to comment on and in what order? Hearing all of your thoughts and ideas and reflections unfold here is like watching popcorn in a popcorn machine. BEZ, I’m glad you made so many hyperlinks to so many of the things that we’ve already touched on. I was gratified by this and also slightly relieved that you’d classified them and referenced them, and I imagine it must have taken a really long time to do that.

    So anyway… here’s some more “stuff” to add to the discussion. Stuff I thought about and reacted to while reading the above.

    Baking now is not what it used to be. Success now is not what it used to be. How do I know this (especially when everything is relative and history repeats itself)? I don’t. but, I do wonder if, in our “progression” as a western society, we have unintentionally spoiled a simple and enjoyable activity by a) increasing our standards of living; b) diversifying what people do to make a living; and c) creating mini subcultures around things that never existed before.

    Think of the innocent little cupcake. Once upon a time, cupcakes were edible items moms (yes, American spelling because it was a mostly American baked item) made for school cake drives, parties etc. Now, not only are there entire bakeries made famous for their cupcakes (hello, Magnolia, where tour buses hundreds of tourists every day, most of whom who will line up for over an hour just to savor the experience (and no, they’re not worth the wait)), but there are TV shows dedicated to the making of them (“Cupcake Wars” is a reality TV show where contestants have to create the most innovative cupcake inventions based around a theme) and college courses around them and on and on we go. Regardless of the gender issue, food, like everything else, has become (needlessly? Necessarily?) complex, its own “thing”, with its own signs and meanings and symbols and implications. A cupcake is not a cupcake.

    And as for the gender issue… if one was to take the above cultural and socio-economic factors in to consideration; and if one was to also agree that we DO live in a post feminist age, then you have very complex situation for the baker, any baker.

    I’m reminded of a book I read a few years ago about young women facing choices about their careers. One young writer in the book was expressing her gratitude but resentment to her mother’s generation for breaking the glass ceiling for her own generation: She said something like, “Mom, you told me I could be anything, but now I feel like I have a responsibility to be EVERYTHING”. Young women today feel enormous pressure to be at once effortlessly beautiful, tanned, manicured, perky-breasted, with pantene-shiny hair, top of their class, well read, up on current affairs (local and global), sexually confident , conversationally witty and a wonderful home-maker (which includes baking). I’m exhausted at the thought of all of this. It’s overwhelming.

    Assuming this complexity, then the simple act of baking becomes an act in demonstrating brilliance, excellence, creativity, competition; even some basic scientific prowess (chemistry of souffle is v difficult!). It becomes samurai-baking, some kind of thing that it’s not just ok to dabble in… if you’re going to bake, then you can’t just BAKE. You have to make it as original and exacting as a post-doctoral thesis, then take pictures of it to put on pinterest and facebook for the world to see… it’s intimidating, frankly. And to BEZ’s first sentence, it’s the main reason that personally, I don’t like pinterest. Every time I go there I’m reminded of what I haven’t achieved in life. And yes, I do think that’s a female thing. I can’t think of a male equivalent.

    As for baking and its political implications: I only just started thinking about this last week. I brought in ANZAC biscuits to the office, which I make every year. They were good, if I say so myself. I stayed up till 1am making them, after working till 10pm. When I put them out the next day for people to eat, colleagues were actually stunned that I had baked something. One colleague announced, “that’s the most domestic thing you’ve ever done!”. And then I got to thinking: when can I think of an example when a senior executive woman has ever brought in her own baking? None. Did I just do my career a disservice? (sigh).

    FP talked about “Showing off a bit” when making something. I thought this was also a telling statement about baking in of itself as a gendered activity: when a woman bakes, she’s showing off it in a way that is non threatening, and that everyone appreciates (except when they’re on a diet). Showing off by baking is hardly the same as dropping to the floor and doing 100 one-handed pushups in front of colleagues. It’s a gentle/gentile form of self confidence boosting. “Great cookies!” is a heartwarming thing to both say, and hear. I don’t think unless you brought a 3 tiered wedding cake in to the office that you’d find many people referring to the baker as showing off.

    Oh, and apropos of nothing, just one final thought. FP, you mentioned about the challenge your husband faces about taking paternity leave:…“even though legally his company would have to allow him to take paternity leave, it would mean the end of any upwards progression in his career.” I couldn’t help thinking: this is exactly what women have faced for decades when taking maternity leave, isn’t it?

    • Yes, it is what women have faced for years. Maternity leaves are a huge issue. I think (and this is purely anecdotal and very general) that in Canada women’s careers are fairly unaffected by Mat leaves now. Full year paternity leave has been around for over a decade and prior to that there was 6 months legislated mat leave. Social acceptance of this time away from work is well established. Let me be clear, time away from work impacts anyone’s work (i.e. staying current with trends, technology, research, etc.). However, I have never talked to any women who felt that her company treated her differently or bypassed her for promotion after a mat leave. I know of a couple of men who did take paternity and felt that there was a strong social stigma that worked against them after the fact. Women are expected to use their leave, men are seen as weak or feminine (why is that a negative) if they take paternity leave. It exemplifies how we as a society diminish traditional women’s roles by making them unacceptable for men.

  6. “We as a society diminish traditional women’s roles by making them unacceptable for men.” Thank you FP for articulating this point. This has been a bug bear of mine for quite some time. I can’t help wondering what the world would be like if mothering, cooking, keeping a household, childrearing and (dare I say it) cultivating beauty, be it flowers in a vase or on a cookie, came with the same social status as the average career outside the home. We’ve liberated women to participate in society alongside men but disdain for traditional women’s roles is just another form of patriarchy in my mind.

    All that said, I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not sure I’d be happy doing all of these things 24/7. I am fairly certain I’d get bored and need balance the way LZ needs the city. But to be fair, is there any job I’d be happy doing 24/7? If I had a family of my own I would probably consider having a career. But I’d like that choice to be about my freedom to do what keeps me balanced rather than my freedom from tasks that aren’t – how to describe it – competitive, academic, hierarchical? I’m not sure.

    “…as far as I see it, there’s nothing wrong with being proud of anything you create with your hands, your brain, your heart.” I think this sums it up for me. Perhaps I could take a little more pleasure in championing that myself.

    It is always a pleasure, BEZ and FP, thank you for making me think and ask myself the tough questions!

  7. First, I love the images in your old scrapbook, and am slightly astonished at how it all – in a way – came true.

    I remember being surprised at your Nigella Lawson books – not because the were about baking, but because to my mind, they were about home-making. And to me being a home-maker and having a career seemed directly opposed. But as time has gone on, categories that seemed so fixed at one time have melted together, and so these things don’t seem so opposite to me any more. For me now, baking or home-making or being a CEO is less a matter of identity and more a matter of where one chooses to put their time and energy.

    And yet – I relate to not wanting to bring baking to work. When I was directing, I worried about doing things like that. I agree with FP when she points out that women’s work is under-valued – has anyone seen how little day-care workers make? And love the points that BEZ and Pavlova make about these once-simple cupcakes becoming trendy, heavily marketed commodities. I, like Pavlova try to keep my head down and avoid the pinterests and the cupcake sites – while I admire all the creativity and skill that goes into making these things, I just can’t handle any more pressure to be a better anything 🙂 and prefer to plod along, doing my best.

  8. I’m so glad you shared this post on Truth and Cake today, it’s a perfect match :-).

    Finding something we truly enjoy doing is precious and to me, baking is both old-fashioned and sort of trendy (all those blogs about recipes, cupcakes’ and macaron’s success…).

    I understand your questioning around it though. Often, I wonder if it makes sense to put on make-up, to do a bit more cleaning than my fiancé around the house or to wear heels. But as you said, as long as it is a free-choice that brings us a bit of pleasure in our life, we shouldn’t let anyone else dictate the way we live.

  9. I linked on over here from Truth and Cake, and really enjoyed reading this post. I *love* to bake and cook; I cook most meals from scratch and make cakes, frosting, muffins, cupcakes, biscuits with glee. This is what I was taught. That food – providing for those you love – shows love. For those you don’t know, it provides a welcome. It’s about being hospitable. But it doesn’t matter whether the cake comes from a box and the icing comes from a tin, or whether you have slaved for hours to produce the item. It’s all about caring for people, and whether you do that by buying food in or making it from scratch, is your choice. It’s all about choice! Oh, I work full-time outside the home, and do occasionally take muffins into work with no fear!

  10. I had the nickname Martha in college, even a latte flavored after me titled such {pear and white chocolate}, lol. I too adore Chanel just as much as my Dansko rowena sandals. I find that baking is connecting, a moving meditation where you get to have your cake {peace of mind} and eat it too {piece of cake}. I agree that no matter what we produce, we should be proud and stand tall. I look forward to reading more of your posts and followed the Truth and Cake trail…very glad I did. Be well! ~Kristy

    • I like the way you read the title. A lot. And I agree. And I think I always did, but thought it might be worthwhile, to test myself a little. Thanks for stopping by. Pear and White chocolate…. hmmm.

Leave a Reply

